Last Red Zinnia – Watercolor Painted by Jacki Kellum – October 11, 2014

Last Red Zinnia by Jacki Kellum

lastzinniacrop

  • Watercolor
  • Painted October 11, 2014

It is rainy and chilly today. There are still a few, brave annuals in my garden–clinging to memories of summer; but they are weak and beginning to retreat. I felt like painting one of those last, red zinnias.

Before I began to paint, I knew that I wanted to communicate that oranges and browns are beginning to creep into my garden.  Because I wanted some pearly grays and browns, I  allowed a bit of mingling among complements.  I used the water to control the amount of color–to create tints–or perlish hues.

I used DaVinci Watercolor Paint — the following colors:

  • Cadmium Yellow Light
  • Cadmium Orange
  • Cadmium Red Light
  • Alizarin Crimson
  • Cerulean Blue
  • Phthalo Blue
  • Ultramarine Blue

Following are some red zinnia paintings that I like from what I found on the internet:

Pastels

Leave a Reply

